Skip to content

Feature request: Confirmation dialog box before the recovery process starts #708

Description

@Golddouble

Is your feature request related to a problem? Please describe.
Recovery of archives or individual folders from the archive: If the user is not yet familiar with Vorta, I'm sure he doesn't know exactly where Vorta will restore the files from the archive.

Example:
The user made a repository with the following source:
"/home/user"

In "/home/user" there is also the sub-folder "/documents/lists/".

Now the user has lost data in "/home/user/documents/lists/" and would like restore "/home/user/documents/lists/".

So he clicks on the "exctract" button and looks for the folder "/lists/".
He only checks "list" and not any folder before. Since I am familiar with Vorta, I know that the user has to specify "/" as target if he wants to overwrite "/home/user/documents/lists/".

But this is not a self-evident fact.
It could be that the user thinks he has to specify "/home/user/documents/lists/" as target if he wants "/lists/" to end up in "/home/user/documents/lists/". Or maybe "/home/user/documents/".

Describe the solution you'd like
As soon as the user has selected the target, Vorta should not immediately start with the recovery process. It should show a dialog field with the following information:

The content of the selected folder /lists/ will be in the folder "/home/user/documents/lists/home/user/documents/lists/" after the recovery process has finished. Do you want to continue? Yes/abort/go back

Activity

  1. changed the title [-]Feature request: [/-] [+]Feature request: Confirmation dialog box before the recovery process starts[/+] on Nov 9, 2020
  2. Golddouble commented on Nov 29, 2020

    @Golddouble
    Author

    Describe the solution you'd like
    As soon as the user has selected the target, Vorta should not immediately start with the recovery process. It should show a dialog field with the following information:

    The content of the selected folder /lists/ will be in the folder "/home/user/documents/lists/home/user/documents/lists/" after the recovery process has finished. Do you want to continue? Yes/abort/go back
    

    No label behind this suggestion? No comment?

  3. stale commented on Jan 28, 2021

    @stale

    This issue has been automatically marked as stale because it has not had recent activity. It will be closed if no further activity occurs. Thank you for your contributions.

  4. added
    status:staleThis item will be closed soon due to inactivity
    on Jan 28, 2021
  5. Golddouble commented on Jan 28, 2021

    @Golddouble
    Author

    This is still an attractive feature.

  6. removed
    status:staleThis item will be closed soon due to inactivity
    on Jan 28, 2021
  7. locked and limited conversation to collaborators on Feb 15, 2021
Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment

Metadata

Metadata

Assignees

No one assigned

    Labels

    No labels
    No labels

    Type

    No type

    Projects

    No projects

      Milestone

      No milestone

      Relationships

      None yet

      Development

      No branches or pull requests

      Issue actions